Region Five Five Counties. One Vision. One Source Links & Resources
Who We Are



The Region Five Development Commission was established in 1973. Area governments came together to establish the Regional Development Commission through the Regional Development Act 1969.  Research had found that issues of growth and development transcended local government boundaries and common solutions to local problems could be found by pooling resources through intergovernmental cooperation.

The work of the Commission is guided by a governing commission that consists of 24 members representing a cross-section of constituents from around the region. Members on the Commission include:


  • 5 County Commissioners (1 from each County)
  • 5 Municipal Representatives from cities under 10,000 (1 from each County)
  • 1 Municipal Representative from cities over 10,000
  • 5 Township Board Members (1 from each County)
  • 2 School Board Members
  • 1 Higher Education Representative
  • 1 Council of Governments Representative
  • 1 Representative from the Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe
  • 1 "Emerging Leader" Representative
  • 1 Soil and Water Conservation District Representative
  • 1 Camp Ripley Military Represenative